You Don’t Go to Singapore and Not Fall in Love

June 2014

I decided to go to Singapore for my 23rd birthday three months ago but I regretted it after a while. At that time, I was falling in love with nature more and more and Singapore is known as a very urban place, so I thought I won’’t enjoy exploring the country. I was thinking I should’’ve gone for Bali or somewhere in Malaysia for my first plane ride and overseas destination. Good thing you can’’t ask for a refund after booking a flight, because I now have no regrets that I went to Singapore (except not having a picture with the Minions).

My first plane ride ever! Definitely worth a snapshot.
My first plane ride ever! Definitely worth a snapshot.

My mother, sister, and I were very lucky because Tita Flor was there to pick us up at the airport and allow us to stay in her home there. We will be eternally grateful at how accommodating she was to us and how fun it was to have her around. We went to Lucky Plaza to get some Singaporean dollars and went ahead to VivoCity to ride the Sentosa Express.

Outdoor Area of VivoCity
Outdoor Area of VivoCity
View from the Sentosa Express. This sparked so much excitement upon us!
View from the Sentosa Express. This sparked so much excitement upon us!
AdventureCove
Taken at our first destination: Adventure Cove. It’’s similar to Splash Island, just a little better. You can swim with fishes and see them up close on certain areas.
Singapore Cable Car; Another Way to Enter Sentosa
Singapore Cable Car; Another Way to Enter Sentosa
Great building just outside Adventure Cove.
Great building just outside Adventure Cove.
Gardens by the Bay
Gardens by the Bay
The Unbelievable Marina Bay Sands
The Unbelievable Marina Bay Sands
The Tall Buildings of Singapore
The Tall Buildings of Singapore
Wonder Full
Wonder Full
Second Day = Universal Studios Day!
Second Day = Universal Studios Day!
Sesame Street
Sesame Street
Optimus Prime
Optimus Prime
Revenge of the Mummy: By far the most exciting and enjoyable coaster ride I’'ve ever tried (thrice)! It doesn’'t just let you fall from high places, it also pulls you back when you least except it. You’'re also practically blind during the whole duration of the ride, which makes the experience more thrilling.
Revenge of the Mummy: By far the most exciting and enjoyable coaster ride I’’ve ever tried (thrice)! It doesn’’t just let you fall from high places, it also pulls you back when you least except it. You’’re also practically blind during the duration of the ride, which makes the experience more thrilling.
Parade
The Hollywood Dreams Parade
Minions! I was waiting for them in front of the Minion Mart but they appeared about 30 meters away from me. When I got there, the line was already closed. So I just took a photo of them without me. I know, heartbreaking. I guess a picture with an stationary Minion would do for now.
Minions! I was waiting for them in front of the Minion Mart, but they appeared about 30 meters away from me. When I got there, the line was already closed. So I just took a photo of them without me. I know, heartbreaking. I guess a picture with a stationary Minion would do for now.
The Ever Famous Globe
The Ever Famous Globe

We enjoyed a heavy breakfast and went shopping during our third day. We went to church in the afternoon and got to meet some of the friends of friends we have. Their church was big and beautiful! After the service, we explored more destinations, including Chinatown, Clarke Quay, and the Merlion Plaza. Unfortunately, we had no more time to visit Little India and the Esplanade.

Double Decker Bus
Double Decker Bus
MICA Building
MICA Building
Chinatown
Chinatown
My mom and I with Jiezl and Gretchen, our kind tour guides for the day!
My mom and I with Jiezl and Gretchen, our kind tour guides for the day!
Clark Quay
Clark Quay
We passed by luxurious restaurants, hotels, and buildings on the way to the Merlion Plaza. This photo was taken after minutes of walking. I just had to sit down and appreciate the green grass! I love how the big buildings at the back give this picture contrast.
merlion
The Famous Merlion of Singapore
Makansutra
Makansutra

On our way home, we stopped by this “Freecycling” booth which is a part of their YFest celebration. It’’s so cool because you can get anything in exchange of anything. Beside this, there’’s also a “Zine” booth where I got little eight-page journals of kids just drawing and writing whatever they felt like. It’’s amazing! I was really inspired by this and I hope I knew beforehand that something like this was going on.

Freecycling
Swop Shop (Freecycling)
Changi Airport
Changi Airport

Singapore is a very blessed place. The weather is perfect and the place is astonishingly beautiful. The people are so diverse and their cultures combined make for an interesting and unforgettable experience. The urban planning is so impressive; I just know the leaders there had a vision and they made it happen with much precision and through deep passion.

5 thoughts on “You Don’t Go to Singapore and Not Fall in Love

Share Your Thoughts

