15 Minutes of Serendipity

I didn’t have a plan. I just wanted to walk outside to get out of the four corners where I sit on my ass for hours trying to make sentences and paragraphs sound better. I didn’t know better just four months ago, but I guess they trust me enough to know better now.

The only thing I brought with me was my two-year old iPod Touch. I always do this, just to fully submerge myself in hypnotic music as I walk aimlessly. I love doing this even more now, as I have new glasses, enabling me to see a more detailed view of the people and things around me.

The first thing I noticed was the sky. It was so blue I can’t help but feel a sense of belongingness. I love the color blue; every shade draws me in. Sometimes, I even dress up in blue from head to toe. In a way, I feel at home in its presence.

I captured the calm blue sky using the only camera I have. It’s a shitty one, but I still did it, four times. At the back of my mind, however, I knew I just had to let this moment sink in because the picture won’t do it any justice. This is a moment of pure serendipity. The universe just wanted me to let loose and go on.

I knew this when “Breakaway” by Kelly Clarkson suddenly played. I knew I needed to breakaway from all my anxieties and grudges. Suddenly, I walked like I was walking all over my troubles and fears. I walked like I now live in a world where all my dreams have become my reality. I walked like I am in paradise, where I always aspire to be every single day of my life.

My mind began to wander even more. I was lost in my own bliss. A few moments later, sweat was already dripping down my face, and the calm blue sky was suddenly gone. It turned pitch-black, but I’m left still hoping for more. I know there are still more to come. I asked whatever it is I asked, to let me see someone, as a sign that this truly was a serendipitous experience.

I walked back to the office as Kelly Clarkson sang “Sober.” And there I was, pushing the door to enter the cold again. As I raise my head, the first person I saw was that someone I asked to see. I knew right then and there, the past 15 minutes of my life happened for a reason, and blue really is my lucky color.

Share Your Thoughts

