Melaka, My Love: A City of Heritage, Art, and Culture

Oh, Melaka, you have overwhelmed me with your artistry staring back at me. Your roots seem upside down, they will never be buried. They earned their spotlight long ago, and now we’re here to celebrate. Exploring your rugged streets, taking shots of your most popular spots, visiting your exceptional museums, discovering your hidden gems, what more could I ask? I don’t have much choice, but to keep coming back for more.

First glimpse of the Melaka River, where the magic begins.
First glimpse of the Melaka River, where the magic begins.
First picture of the birthday girl, my mom, in Melaka.
First picture of the birthday girl, my mom, in Melaka.
Ready, set, about to go! After this picture was taken, I saw another house that was painted blue and white. I was so enthusiastic to take more pictures there because blue is my favorite color. Turns out it's a police station. Haha. Change of plans. :)
Ready, set, about to go! After this picture was taken, I saw another house painted blue and white. I was so enthusiastic to take more pictures there because blue is my favorite color. Turns out it’s a police station. Haha. Change of plans. 🙂
The historic and famous Christ Church in Melaka. In a way, I saw fascinated to finally see this structure in person rather than just in pictures on screen.
The historic and famous Christ Church in Melaka. In a way, I saw fascinated to finally see this structure in person and not just in pictures.
A kid vendor.
A kid vendor.
St. Paul's Hill (A'Famosa) offers a bird's eye view of Melaka. Takes just a few steps up to reach this serene place. There was even a groom and bride doing a photo shoot when we visited.
St. Paul’s Hill (A’Famosa) offers a bird’s-eye view of Melaka. Takes just a few steps up to reach this serene place. There was even a groom and bride doing a photo shoot when we visited.
Taming Sari Tower can also be seen here.
Taming Sari Tower can also be seen here.
A cat with a glaring stare.
A cat with a glaring stare.
This one's a little more quiet and at peace.
This one’s a little more quiet and at peace.
Going down the hill, we proceeded to the Dutch Graveyard and got lost. We saw plenty of old, vacant homes that were a delight to the eyes.
Going down the hill, we proceeded to the Dutch Graveyard and got lost. Finding our way back, we saw plenty of old, vacant homes that were a delight to the eyes.
This one's a bit older and dirtier than the rest.
This one’s a bit older and dirtier than the rest.

Exhausted, we found our way to the Dataran Pahlawan Melaka Megamall. We ate at Nando’s, which looks like a direct copy of Peri-Peri Charcoal Chicken here at the Philippines. Their ketchup is labeled “Tomato Sauce” so I ignored it at first. To my surprise, it was actually my beloved dip, which saved me from the super spicy sauces. I can’t even tolerate the “mild” one, let alone the “extra chili.” Afterwards, we exchanged our pesos to ringgits and found our way back to the inner streets of Melaka. We explored the Flora de la Mar Maritime Museum next, then went on to walk some more.

At first, I thought these were mirrors, but they're just holes in walls.
At first, I thought these were mirrors, but they’re just holes in walls.

One of the highlights of the day: our visit to The Baboon House. We just ordered drinks because we were still full. I didn’t take pictures inside because there were signs that permits customers to. However, when we asked our server, she said yes. Still hesitant, this is the only picture I managed to take. I regret not taking more pictures, since the place was just so breathtaking. Even the pathway to the restroom is divine!

Their drinks are the best! Their burgers seem delicious as well, but we were still full so we didn't order any.
Their drinks are the best! Their burgers seem delicious as well, but we were still full so we didn’t order any.
Saw this on our way to our next stop. There were plenty of other street art in Melaka, which makes it so authentic and beautiful in my book.
Saw this on our way to our next stop. There were plenty of other street art in Melaka, which makes it so authentic and beautiful in my book.

Our next stop: Calanthe Art Cafe. We already passed by this restaurant earlier but we didn’t realize it was actually Calanthe because the name was posted on a wall covered by plants. Along with The Baboon House, this is a must visit when in Melaka. The place was colorful and beautiful, the servers were nice and attentive, the food were delicious and exquisite. Their strawberry milkshake was divine, while the satay not so much.

Just one of the interior decors in this cozy and artistic cafe.
Just one of the interior decors in this cozy and artistic café.
The underwhelming Vietnamese Otak (I think it's their version of spring rolls).
The underwhelming Vietnamese Otak (I think it’s their version of spring rolls).
Laksa FTW! It's rich, creamy, a little bit spicy, and everything else a laksa should be!
Laksa FTW! It’s rich, creamy, a bit spicy, and everything else a laksa should be!
My mom was amazed when she saw this, saying that they owned this kind of TV back in the day. Calanthe turned it into a makeshift aquarium (but there was no fish in it).
My mom was amazed when she saw this, saying that they owned this kind of TV back in the day. Calanthe turned it into a makeshift aquarium (but there was no fish in it).

We took a few minutes to rest at the Jonker Walk World Heritage Park. I was happy watching people of all ages strike different poses and have fun with their loved ones (including me haha). Outside the park, you can see the crowd starting to thicken as different stalls were already opening.

Mr. Universe, Mr. Asia, Mr. Malaysia, Mr. Melaka. Ikaw na! This one's a prominent figure here. We saw him in three different locations.
Mr. Universe, Mr. Asia, Mr. Malaysia, Mr. Melaka. Ikaw na! This one’s a prominent figure here. We saw him in three different locations.
Above Mr. Perfect was this beautiful tree with artificial leaves and apples.
Above Mr. Perfect was this beautiful fake tree with artificial leaves and apples.
Jonket Street, a riot every Friday, Saturday, and Sunday nights. With a lot of things to try and food to eat, we went here two nights in a row.
Jonker Street, a riot every Friday, Saturday, and Sunday nights. With a lot of things to try and food to eat, we went here two nights in a row.
Trishaws, always available for tourist to be more comfortable when touring Melaka. Pricey and for brats only. :p
Trishaws, always available to tour Melaka more comfortably. Pricey and for brats only. I kid. 😀
I hate myself for missing The Orangutan House! They say this is the perfect place to buy your Melaka souvenirs. Don't make the same mistake I did. :(
I hate myself for missing The Orangutan House! They say this is the perfect place to buy your Melaka souvenirs. Don’t make the same mistake I did. 😦

Melaka’s status as a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 2008 is much deserved. I can’t help but think of this place every now and again, replaying memories in my mind and wishing I had more time to explore and discover everything it has to offer. It was truly a magnificent experience that I will gladly and most likely repeat in the near future.

Share Your Thoughts

