You Were Just a Wave

You were just a wave
That left just as it came
That shook me for a moment
That made me feel the rush

You were just a wave
That frightened me in layers
That cradled me uneasy
That rendered me unready

You were just a wave
That I’ve secretly longed for
To tell me solitude’s done
I’ve heard you in an instant

You were just a wave
And I was glad to see you
To tell you all my secrets
To hear yours from a distance

~

You were just a wave
An empty, fleeting promise
Behind you was another
‘Fore you, I didn’t bother

You were just a wave
But I was foolish enough
To think that you would stay here
Through all the ups and downs

You were just a wave
When I wished you were rainfall
To help me shed these blue tears
Catch them without a sound

You were just a wave
I thought you were the deep sea
That will drown all my sorrows
That will pull me from dearth

~

You were just a wave
A taste of salty water
That won’t quench my desire
Will only lead to hunger

You were just a wave
And now I’m fin’lly seeing
There’s no reason to feel bad
For you were just a halt

You were just a wave
And what a lucky trag’dy
For me to see you parting
I didn’t lose a thing

You were just a wave
With you gone, I have freedom
I’m sailing ‘way to better
I’m making my own ocean

wave3

Share Your Thoughts

